Created 1 year ago by Beeston Hockey Club

Nicki Cochrane set to make Great Britain debut

Nicki Cochrane set to make Great Britain debut

Beeston Hockey Club

Nicki Cochrane set to make Great Britain debut

Great Britain women have named their 20-strong squad which will travel to Rosario to take on Argentina in February.

The athletes will take on world number three side Argentina in a five-match Test series between the 10 and 17 February.

Beeston goalkeeper, Nicki Cochrane, is set to make her first appearance for Great Britain along with Amy Costello, Emily Defroand, Jo Hunter, Hannah Martin, Ellie Rayer, Rose Thomas and Anna Toman.

Captain Alex Danson is in line to make her 100th appearance for Great Britain while as many as eight others are set to make their GB debuts.

Head coach Danny Kerry is taking the opportunity to use this trip to widen the level of experience in his squad, with a large number of players set to make their GB debuts, while the experienced duo of Maddie Hinch and Lily Owsley are not selected as a result.

Kerry explained: “We have deliberately selected a GB squad, despite the proximity of the Commonwealth Games, to allow us to give experiential developmental opportunity of playing a world leading team to athletes early enough in the Olympic cycle.

“We look forward to seeing how those who will receive new GB caps rise to the opportunity and understand the developmental journey ahead.

“Argentina is my and for many of the squad, favourite place to go and play test match hockey. The crowds are passionate and knowledgeable and we are treated warmly by all.”

Full Squad

  1. Giselle Ansley
  2. Sophie Bray
  3. Nicki Cochrane
  4. Amy Costello
  5. Alex Danson (C)
  6. Emily Defroand
  7. Sarah Haycroft
  8. Jo Hunter
  9. Hannah Martin
  10. Shona McCallin
  11. Hollie Pearne-Webb
  12. Ellie Rayer
  13. Sarah Robertson
  14. Zoe Shipperley
  15. Rose Thomas
  16. Anna Toman
  17. Susannah Townsend
  18. Laura Unsworth
  19. Ellie Watton
  20. Nicola White

Fixtures (GMT)

10 February – 9.30pm

11 February – 9.30pm

14 February – 9.30pm

17 February – 12:00am

17 February – 9.30pm